oursoundtracks


valentine
February 15, 2010, 4:14 am
Filed under: Roots Reggae, Dub, Ska, Funk, Soul, Soul, Hip Hop, Jazz

2 Mixes for Valentine’s Evening

S.O.S Heart in Distress

This first mix is coming from a site that I’ve REALLY been meaning to spread the word about.  If you dig soul, funk, jazz etc… you ABSOLUTELY MUST stop by the Funky Sixteen Corners.  All kinds of rare downloadable tracks from various A-sides and B-sides AND the podcast archive is an absolute GOLD MINE.  Too many fantastic mixes for my own good.  Brilliant Brilliant site.

This mix is one out of the 80! available in the archive.   OH!  And I almost forgot to mention that what makes the Funky 16 Corners archive even more amazing is that not only is the mix available for download, but each of the individual tracks in the mix is available for download in a ZIP folder.  Please have a listen and then head on over to Funky 16 Corners and give them your support!

The Mix

Track listing

Velvelettes – Lonely Lonely Girl Am I (VIP)
Betty Harris – I Don’t Want To Hear It (Sansu)
Irma Thomas – What Are You Trying To Do (Imperial)
Flirtations – Nothing But A Heartache (Deram)
Cooperettes – Shingaling (Brunswick)
Barbara West – You’re No Good (Ronn)
Kim Weston – Helpless (Gordy)
Betty Everett – Getting Mighty Crowded (VeeJay)
Shirley Ellis – Soul Time (Columbia)
Christine Cooper – S.O.S. (Heart In Distress) (Parkway)
Persianettes – It Happens Every Day (OR)
Marvelettes – I’ll Keep On Holding On (Tamla)
Thelma Jones – Stronger (Barry)
Bonnie & Lee – The Way I Feel About You (Fairmount)
Martha & The Vandellas – In My Lonely Room (Gordy)
Linda Jones – I Can’t Help Loving My Baby (Loma)
Liberty Belles – Shingaling Time (Shout)
Jean Wells – With My Love and What You’ve Got (Calla)

Music to Get Married By (repeat)


I was hoping to make a new mix of love songs for today, but life has been crazy and I had to head out of town over the weekend.  In turn, I’m reposting a mix that if you haven’t heard already, you should, and if you already have, well, now is the time to check it again.

I also felt this mix, which I made for our wedding 2 years ago,  is fitting for me to put up on Valentine’s Day 2010 as this year is gonna be a big one for me and the fam!   We’re moving out of Tokyo and back to my wife’s hometown in the mountains at the end of March, starting my own business in May, and having our first kid in June…  So this mix goes out to my wife and soon-to-be daughter ~~~

THE MIX

Track Listing

Lennie Hibbert – Montego Rock
Timmy McNealy – I Am Glad You’re Mine
Brenda & The Tabulations – Hey Boy
The Rockmasters – Raining Teardrops
Lennie Hibbert – Moonlight Becomes You
Lil’ Bob – My Heart’s on Fire
Dennis Alcapone – The Wedding Song
Jimmy Cliff – Come Into My Life
The Melodians – Come On Little Girl
Alton Ellis – La La Means I Love
The Joytones – This Love That I’m Giving You
Linnie Hibbert – Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
Jennifer Lara – ?? – Off the ‘Studio One Presents’ album
Carlton and The Shoes – Sincerely Yours
Ebony Sisters & Mudies All Stars – Let Me Tell You Boy
Tony Gregory – Get Out Of My Life Woman
Delroy Wilson – Have Some Mercy
Carlton and The Shoes – Love Me Forever
Gregory Isaacs – Darling I Need Your Loving
Jennifer Lara – A Woman
Pat Kelly – It’s a Good Day
Timmy McNealy – What’s Going On
Johnny Osbourne – We Need Love

EnjoY –    One Love on V Day.

p.s.  In actuality, I really HATE this lame holiday.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Mike,
First and foremost: congra-tu-fuckin’-lations!!!! This is wonderful news and I am certain that you and your wife are going to be wonderful parents! This will be an auspicious year, no doubt.

Derek and I had a late night v-day dinner and when we got back, i checked my email and was linked to this great mix (sweet without being cheesy; happy without being sappy; i could go on and on…)

Cheers!

Comment by Nalini




Leave a Reply

